When All is Stripped Away

Sometimes I work on a piece of writing for hours, days, or even months on end. Other times, I sit down to spend time with my Savior and words flow from an unexpected place in my heart. Today was one of those days. Healing. So much healing can come from putting a pen to paper and allowing my hands to be a conduit of God’s Grace back to my own heart. I hope this poem can be an encouragement to anyone who struggles with finding their significance in what they “do” for God, instead of the new identity God has given you in Him. You are His child. Rest in who He says you are.

When all is stripped away,

I begin to see you for the very first time.

But what do You look like?

This God, I’ve concealed with good deeds and doing.

What do you desire of me?

As someone who searches for significance in sacrifice.

My worthiness is fading.

Or is it?



Longing for You in Your purest form.

Not covered by heavy expectations and burdens.

You alone.



My righteousness, fashioned by my own heart.

As dirty rags in your presence.

Why?



Do you not delight in all I bring you?

My broken spirit, my honest heart,

Your only hope for me before you.



Can it be so simple?

My presence You want.

You call me Your child.

You say You rescued me, because you delighted in me.

Will I believe it?

That You love me, just because I am me?

Chosen. Redeemed. Known. Desirable.

My position before You, because You sacrificed it all.



Spotless.

Pure.

Blameless.

Ransomed.

Forgiven.

Grace-Lavished.

Loved.

Enough.



Worthiness.

You alone make me worthy.

Not what I have done.

Not what I will do.

You.

This God I’ve hidden beneath my futile offerings.

You.

The One who abandoned everything for me.



Perfect.

Good.

Sacrificial

Holy.

Redeemer.

Merciful.

Loving.

Savior.



What I can give, what I can do, it will never be enough.

This doesn’t seem right.

But all You have given and all You have done is enough.

It always has been and it always will be.

Rest.

Your burden is light and Your yoke is easy.

Rest.

In the arms of the One who became the ultimate Sacrifice.

And now I see you clearly for the very first time.


A Great Song by Will Reagan:
"Looking for a Savior"
https://youtu.be/W4YhvfN4_Vk
7 thoughts on “When All is Stripped Away

  1. Cindy Cardwell

    Melissa, that is absolutely soul soothing and lovely. You are an excellent writer. I will appreciate this over and over. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply
  2. Darlene Duttlinger

    I have been wrestling with whether or not I am doing enough. The Word in James 2:18 says But someone will say, “You have faith; I have deeds.” Show me your faith without deeds, and I will show you my faith by my deeds. And verse 26 As the body without the spirit is dead, so faith without deeds is dead. So while I must put my dilemma before the Lord, for today I believe He is saying I can rest in Him until He calls me to act. Thank you for being His conduit of grace.

    Reply
  3. Linda Ayala

    Once again you have expressed your thoughts and care so beautifully. So honored to be a small part of your minestry. One day you will publish🙏🌹. Your words are uplifting and comforting. Love and Big Hugs, Linda

    Reply
  4. laamoonlight@gmail.com

    Dear Melissa. I read this again today. It has been saved in my e-mail and don’t even know how I came upon it. But there it was; exactly what I needed. I thank God for you and the precious gift of creativity He has blessed you with.

    Blessings and much love, Linda Ayala Sent from my iPad

    >

    Reply

Leave a Reply

