Chasing the Sun

It’s amazing how the Lord knows us so well. He knew that today, I needed the sun. After over a week of solid rain in Bologna, and a few personal discouragements along the way, I was becoming desperate for the sun to shine in the city and in my heart.

You never realize how much you take for granted little things in life like the sun. It’s warmth on your cheeks, the unique shadows it casts, the little sun beams that shine through the trees. What an incredible creation it is! The sun’s Creator must have known that it’s purpose would be for so much more then just warming the earth. It’s Creator must have known the joy that it would bring to His other creations. He must have known that it would symbolize joy and peace. He must have known that it would reflect His image.

I realize that I may be beginning to sound like a broken record, but I myself do not want to miss what my Creator is teaching me during my time here in Italy. Today, I simply stood in the sun. I watched the shadows it casted upon the old Italian buildings, I soaked in the warmth it laid upon my body despite the crisp fall air, and I admired the way it brought people outside their homes to sit on park benches. I don’t think that I would have ever done this until coming to the place where I am realizing all I miss when I don’t slow down. Not only that, but also what I take for granted so often in everyday life.

Sometimes when all there seems to be is rain, we wonder if we will ever be in the place where we can simply stand in the sun again. A phrase in 2 Corinthians 4 that I have been clinging to this past week is, “Do NOT lose heart”. Paul repeats it twice in the same chapter and my belief is that he wants to encourage us in the times of rain. Do not lose heart. Do not lose heart. Do not lose heart. What does it look like to not lose heart?

I believe that Paul gave us a glimpse of what it may look like in three verses: 2 Corinthians 4:16-18: “So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day. For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal.”

All our difficulties and struggles are temporary and transient. They are not lasting, only here for a short time, and impermanent. And soon enough, if we have placed our faith in Christ, we too will be separated from all the trials on this earth and will stand with the Son.

What I want to learn from all God has showed me these past few days is two different things: First, continue to be sure to take time to simply chase the sun. With so many buildings in Bologna, I had to weave my way through the shaded ally ways to find the place where I could stand the directly in the sun rays. It was worth it to soak in the moment and allow the Maker of the universe to minister to my heart through His creation. Second, do not lose heart. It is almost inevitable that after the rain, the sun will shine. We may have to wait patiently for it, but in the midst of waiting do not lose heart.

4 thoughts on “Chasing the Sun

  1. Lynda Samen

    Your pictures and words warm My heart, Melissa. Know that God and I are with you in your Journey. I remember driving through Bologna on the way to Firenze…I LOVE Firenze….You MUST go to see the “Statue of David” at the Academy De Arts..you can FEEL the blood running through his veins. Marvel at the “baptismal” nearby…I love the blend of Ancient culture and modern life such as internet….I too, will “Bask in the sun” today and absorb God’s Glory and renewwing energy of the Sun! Onward Christian Soldier, You are AMAZING! Love Aunt Lynda……(Feel the cobblestones under your feet and marvel at the amazing archetecture that surrounds you

    Reply
  2. Cassandra

    Melissa!
    This is beautiful,
    God is beautiful,
    and YOU are beautiful. 😀
    It made me smile to see how much of a writer you are! Fantastic use of anaphora in your second paragraph. 😉 It also warmed my heart to be reminded of how much God has given us to share.:) It also makes me miss you more! 😉 teheh, but anyway, I am definitely a sun-chaser as well. He never fails to shine on me in absolute perfect timing. It’s almost as if He uses the sun to lift up our chins, to fix our eyes on the Son. 😀 Thank you for successfully distracting me from my schoolwork to breathe in a refreshment into the morning!
    I love you so dearly,
    and I can’t believe how soon I will see you!
    Till then, we shall both Take Heart! 😀
    With Joy,
    Cass

    PS: Pumped for Friday! 🙂

    Reply
    1. melissacrutchfield Post author

      Thank you so much for the encouragement sweet girl! Coming from you, that is quite the compliment to hear that you like my writing tehe :] You are the master at it, because the Master has given you a gift. Miss you tons sister, and sorry that today didn’t work out again. Cannot wait to catchup for reals!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

